вход по аккаунту


Catalysis R. Schrock Honored Organic Chemistry Eschenmoser Awarded Bioorganic Chemistry Prize to Rohmer

код для вставкиСкачать
Karrer Medal for A. Eschenmoser
R. Schrock to Hold 2008
Bohlmann Lecture
Even before the death of the natural
products chemist Ferdinand Bohlmann
(1921–1991), the Technical University of
Berlin and the Schering Foundation
initiated the Bohlmann Lecture. This
year, it was held on October 24 by Richard R.
Schrock (Massachusetts
Institute of Technology,
Cambridge, USA) with
the title “Monoalkoxide
Metathesis Catalysts of
Molybdenum. High Turnover, Variability, and
R. Schrock
Metal.” In 2005, together
with Y. Chauvin and R. Grubbs, Schrock
was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work on olefin metathesis.[1a]
Schrock received his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1971 in the group of
J. A. Osborn. He then spent one year at
the University of Cambridge and three
years at DuPont de Nemours. He moved
to MIT in 1975, where he became a full
professor in 1980. He is a member of the
Academic Advisory Board of Advanced
Synthesis & Catalysis and of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Polymer
Science Part A: Polymer Chemistry.
Schrocks name is associated with
tungsten alkylidene complexes and ringopening metathesis polymerization. In
2003, he reviewed the efficiency of
molybdenum and tungsten imido alkylidene complexes as metathesis catalysts
in Angewandte Chemie together with A.
Hoveyda,[1b] and this year he discussed
the catalytic reduction of dinitrogen to
ammonia by molybdenum.[1c]
On October 15, the University of Zurich
and the Paul Karrer Foundation
awarded the Karrer Medal to Albert
Eschenmoser (ETH Zurich) for his
work regarding the theory of terpene
structural elucidation of natural
stereochemistry, and the
chemical and biochemical reactions.
He is also being
honored for his
the development A. Eschenmoser
of new methods in
organic synthesis, such as the fragmentation reaction that bears his name, in
the total synthesis of complex natural
products, such as vitamin B12 , in chemical etiology (investigation of the causes
and origins of diseases), and in the
elucidation of the structures of nucleic
acids. He recently reported in Angewandte Chemie on oligopeptides and
oligopeptoids with triazines or 2,4-disubstituted 5-aminopyridenes as recognition elements. The ability of these
compounds to engage in base pairing
with DNA and RNA is inversely proportional to the pKa difference between
complementary bases.[2a, b]
Eschenmoser performed graduate
research in the group of L. Ruzicka at
the ETH Zurich and received his doctorate in 1951. He was made a private
lecturer there in 1956, an associate
professor in 1960, and full professor of
chemistry in 1965. He has been active at
the Scripps Research Institute in La
Jolla (CA, USA) since 1996. He is a
member of numerous academies, including the German Academy of Sciences
(London), and the National Academy
of Sciences (USA). In April he was
awarded the Benjamin Franklin Medal
for chemistry.
M. Rohmer receives Hofmann
The Albert Hofmann Prize will be
awarded on November 25 at the Institute for Organic Chemistry of the Uni-
2008 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
versity of Zurich for the first time since
the death of the eponym (1906–2008).
This year the award goes to Michel
Rohmer (Universit Louis Pasteur,
Strasbourg) for his work on the chemistry and biochemistry of microorganisms.
He reported in Angewandte Chemie that
the synthase for the biosynthesis of
isoprenoids along the methylerythritolphosphate path contains a [4Fe-4S]
Rohmer studied at the Ecole Nationale Suprieure de Chimie de Strasbourg, where he received his doctoral
degree in 1975 under the supervision of
Guy Ourisson. After postdoctoral
research on marine
sterols in the group
of C. Djerassi at
Stanford University, California, he
moved to Mulhouse as professor
of organic chemistry. In 1994, he
moved to the Universit L. Pasteur
as professor for bio- M. Rohmer
organic chemistry.
member of the French Academy of
Sciences and of the German Academy
of Sciences Leopoldina as well as a
member of the Editorial Advisory
Board of ChemBioChem.
[1] a) R. R. Schrock, Angew. Chem. 2006,
118, 3832; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2006,
45, 3748; b) R. R. Schrock, A. H. Hoveyda, Angew. Chem. 2003, 115, 4740;
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2003, 42, 4592;
c) R. R. Schrock, Angew. Chem. 2008,
120, 5594; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2008,
47, 5512.
[2] a) G. K. Mittapalli, K. R. Reddy, H.
Xiong, O. Munoz, B. Han, F. De Riccardis, R. Krishnamurthy, A. Eschenmoser,
Angew. Chem. 2007, 119, 2522; Angew.
Chem. Int. Ed. 2007, 46, 2470; b) G. K.
Mittapalli, Y. M. Osornio, M. A. Guerrero, K. R. Reddy, R. Krishnamurthy, A.
Eschenmoser, Angew. Chem. 2007, 119,
2530; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2007, 46,
[3] M. Seemann, B. T. S. Bui, M. Wolff, D.
Tritsch, N. Campos, A. Boronat, A.
Marquet, M. Rohmer, Angew. Chem.
2002, 114, 4513; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.
2002, 41, 4337.
DOI: 10.1002/anie.200804463
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2008, 47, 8154
Без категории
Размер файла
271 Кб
chemistry, rohmer, honored, awarded, eschenmoser, organiz, catalysing, prizi, bioorganic, schrock
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа