вход по аккаунту


H. B. Gray Receives Prestigious Awards Recognition for M. Jansen Distinctions for M. T. Reetz

код для вставкиСкачать
Recognition for M. Jansen
H. B. Gray Receives Prestigious
The two distinctions recently bestowed
on Harry B. Gray (California Institute
of Technology, Pasadena) are regarded
as the “Nobel Prizes” of the countries
concerned: the Benjamin Franklin
and the Wolf
The prizes are
awarded annually in several
presented at the
Franklin Institute
and the Knesset
parliaH. B. Gray
respectively. Gray has
been honored for his work in the field
of bioinorganic chemistry. The focus of
his research is electron transfer in (metallo)proteins (Fe, Mg). The fact that synthetic work is also involved in these
studies is shown in a recent publication
in Angewandte Chemie on high-valent
manganese complexes with corrole
ligands and a review on metallocorrole-catalyzed oxidations.[1]
After completing his PhD in 1960 at
Northwestern University near Chicago
(USA) under the supervision of F.
Basolo and R. Pearson, Gray carried
out postdoctoral research in Copenhagen (Denmark) with C. Ballhausen. At
that time his research focused on
ligand-field theory. After a few years at
Columbia University in New York
(USA), he became interested in bioinorganic chemistry in 1966 at the California
Institute of Technology, where he currently holds the Arnold O. Beckman
Chair of Chemistry.
Martin Jansen (Max-Planck-Institut f<r
Festk=rperforschung, Stuttgart, Germany) has received several distinctions
for his work in the field of solid-state
chemistry and materials research: He is
the recipient of the
Science Prize of
the Stifterverband
der Deutschen Wissenschaft (German
Donors> Association for the Promotion of the Sciences
and the Humanities) for his studies
M. Jansen
ceramics. This prize
is awarded annually based on the recommendation of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft and is worth E 50 000. Jansen
also gave the C. N. R. Rao Lecture at
the conference “Emerging Directions in
Chemical Sciences” in Bangalore
(India) to honor the 70th birthday of
C. N. R. Rao, and the Egon Wiberg Lecture at Ludwig-Maximilians-UniversitCt
(M<nchen, Germany). The topic of the
latter, planning syntheses in solid-state
chemistry, was also the topic of his
recent Review in Angewandte Chemie.[2]
Jansen studied chemistry and completed his PhD in 1973 with R. Hoppe
at the UniversitCt Giessen (Germany),
where he went on to complete his habilitation. He took up a position at the UniversitCt Hannover in 1981 and moved to
the UniversitCt Bonn in 1987. In 1998 he
left Bonn to become director of the MaxPlanck-Institut in Stuttgart. His work has
been recognized by a number of awards,
including the Leibniz Prize (German
Research Foundation), the Otto Bayer
Prize (Bayer AG), and the Alfred Stock
Memorial Prize (Gesellschaft Deutscher
Chemiker). Martin Jansen has been a
member of the Editorial Board of Angewandte Chemie since 2001.
Distinctions for M. T. Reetz
Manfred T. Reetz (Max-Planck-Institut
f<r Kohlenforschung, M<lheim/Ruhr,
Germany) has also been honored with
several awards. The Technische UniversitCt Braunschweig and the Gesellschaft f<r Biotechnologische Forschung
2004 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
DOI: 10.1002/anie.200461115
(German Research Centre for Biotechnology) awarded him the Hans Herloff
Inhoffen Prize, which is cofunded by
Schering AG and which was presented
within the context of the Inhoffen Lecture. He has been recognized for his
work on enantioselective enzyme catalysis. The required enzymes were
obtained through the mutation of Pseudomonas bacteria. He also gave the
Novartis Chemistry Lecture in Basel
(Switzerland), Vienna (Austria), and
Horsham (Sussex, UK), and the Bruno
Wedelmann Lecture at the UniversitCt
Duisburg–Essen (Germany). Besides
“evolution in the test tube”, chiral
ligands for asymmetric transition-metal
catalysis and supramolecular transitionmetal catalysis are focus areas of his
research. He recently presented “Combinatorial and Evolution-Based Methods in the Creation of Enantioselective
Catalysts” in a Review in Angewandte
Reetz studied
chemistry at Washington University
in St. Louis (MO,
USA) and at the
University of Michigan in Ann Arbor
(USA). He completed his PhD in
1969 under the
guidance of U.
Sch=llkopf at the M. T. Reetz
UniversitCt G=ttingen and his habilitation in 1974 with
R. W. Hoffmann at the UniversitCt Marburg, then took up positions first at the
UniversitCt Bonn, then at the UniversitCt Marburg. In 1991 he moved to the
Max-Planck-Institut f<r Kohlenforschung in M<lheim an der Ruhr, where
he became director two years later.
Manfred Reetz has been a member of
the Editorial Board of Angewandte
Chemie since 2002.
[1] a) G. Golubkov, J. Bendix, H. B. Gray, A.
Mahammed, I. Goldberg, A. J. DiBilio, Z.
Gross, Angew. Chem. 2001, 113, 2190;
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2001, 40, 2132;
b) Z. Gross, H. B. Gray, Adv. Synth.
Catal. 2004, 346, 165.
[2] M. Jansen, Angew. Chem. 2002, 114, 3896;
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2002, 41, 3746.
[3] M. T. Reetz, Angew. Chem. 2001, 113,
292; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2001, 40, 284.
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2004, 43, 3874
Без категории
Размер файла
78 Кб
prestigious, awards, jansen, distinction, recognition, reetz, gray, receive
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа