вход по аккаунту


Medicinal Chemistry Ley Seeberger and Kubinyi Awarded.

код для вставкиСкачать
UCB–Ehrlich Award to
P. H. Seeberger
The European Federation for Medicinal
Chemistry (EFMC) presented awards to
outstanding scientists at the Twentieth
International Symposium in Vienna.
Prous Overton Meyer Award to
S. V. Ley
The Prous Institute Overton and Meyer
Award for new technologies in drug
design went to Steven V. Ley (University of Cambridge, UK).
The EFMC honored him
for his achievements in
methodology development
and the total synthesis of
natural products. Particularly sensational was Ley)s
total synthesis of azadirachtin, 20 years after this natural product was isolated.[1a, b] His group recently
S. V. Ley
reported in Chemistry—A
European Journal on organocatalytic enantioselective addition of
malonates to a,b-unsaturated enones.[1c]
Ley received his PhD in 1972 at
Loughborough University (UK). He
worked for two years as a postdoctoral
fellow with L. Paquette at Ohio State
University and thereafter with D.
Barton at Imperial College. In 1975 he
was made lecturer there, and became
head of department in 1989. In 1992, he
took up a position at Trinity College,
Cambridge University. In 2002, he was
made Commander of the British
Empire, after having been president of
the Royal Society of Chemistry for two
years. Ley is a member of the editorial
boards of Chemistry—A European Journal, ChemBioChem, ChemMedChem,
and Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis.
The EFMC presents this year)s UCB–
Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry to Peter H. Seeberger.
He has been professor of organic
chemistry since 2003 at the ETH in
researches at the
interface between
chemistry. He is
particularly interested in oligosaccharides that control the interactions
cells. Using an
P. H. Seeberger
automated oligosaccharide
synthesizer that he developed, Seeberger
has artificially produced known glycanes
of pathogens and further developed
them into potential vaccines against
illnesses, such as Leishmaniosis, malaria,
AIDS, anthrax, and tuberculosis.
Seeberger studied chemistry at the
University of Erlangen–Nuremberg and
completed his doctorate in 1995 as a
Fulbright scholar with M. Caruthers (University of Colorado, Boulder). After a
postdoctoral stay with S. Danishefsky at
the Sloan–Kettering Institute in New
York, he began his own research in 1998
at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he was made professor in 2002.
Seeberger is a member of the editorial
advisory board of QSAR & Combinatorial Science. There he recently discussed
the development of carbohydrate microarrays;[2a] in Chemistry—A European
Journal he reported on the automated
solid-phase synthesis of protected oligosaccharides with b-mannosidic linkages,[2b]
and in Chemistry—An Asian Journal he
presented the total synthesis of sialylated
glycanes that are related to influenza in
humans and birds.[2c]
Nauta Award to H. Kubinyi
With the Nauta Award for Pharmacochemistry, the EFMC honors outstanding achievement in the development and
international organization of medicinal
chemistry. This year the prize goes to
Hugo Kubinyi (formerly at BASF AG,
Ludwigshafen). Kubinyi has contributed
2008 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
substantially to chemical informatics,
quantitative structure–activity relationships (QSAR),[3a, b] and to combinatorial
chemistry and drug development. He
heads the editorial advisory board of the
journal QSAR & Combinatorial Science
and is co-editor of the book series
Methods and Principles in Medicinal
Chemistry (Wiley-VCH) and co-author
of two books in the series.
Kubinyi studied chemistry in Vienna
and completed his doctorate in 1965 at
the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Munich under A. Butenandt
(Nobel Prize in
Chemistry, 1939)
and E. Hecker.
After his postdoctoral stay at the
German Cancer
Research Center
in Heidelberg, he
took up a position
in pharmaceutical
research in 1966
at Knoll AG in H. Kubinyi
(from 1985 with BASF), where he was
responsible for the development of a
partially synthetic cardiac glycoside.[3c]
He was later responsible for molecular
modeling, protein crystallization and
drug design, and combinatorial chemistry. Kubinyi completed his habilitation
in pharmaceutical chemistry in 1979 at
the University of Heidelberg and was
made an associate professor in 1986.
[1] a) G. E. Veitch, E. Beckmann, B. J.
Burke, A. Boyer, S. L. Maslen, S. V. Ley,
Angew. Chem. 2007, 119, 7773; Angew.
Chem. Int. Ed. 2007, 46, 7629; b) G. E.
Veitch, E. Beckmann, B. J. Burke, A.
Boyer, C. Ayats, S. V. Ley, Angew. Chem.
2007, 119, 7777; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.
2007, 46, 7633; c) V. Wascholowski, K.
Rahbek Knudsen, C. E. T. Mitchell, S. V.
Ley, Chem. Eur. J. 2008, 14, 6155.
[2] a) J. L. de Paz, P. H. Seeberger, QSAR
Comb. Sci. 2006, 25, 1027; b) J. D. C.
CodGe, L. KrHck, B. Castagner, P. H.
Seeberger, Chem. Eur. J. 2008, 14, 3987;
c) S. Hanashima, P. H. Seeberger, Chem.
Asian J. 2007, 2, 1447.
[3] a) H. Kubinyi, Chem. Unserer Zeit 1986,
20, 191; b) H. Kubinyi, Quant. Struct.-Act.
Rel. 2002, 21, 348; c) H. Kubinyi, D. Hotz,
W. Steidle, Liebigs Ann. Chem. 1973, 224.
DOI: 10.1002/anie.200804211
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2008, 47, 7586
Без категории
Размер файла
250 Кб
chemistry, medicina, awarded, seeberger, kubinyi, ley
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа