вход по аккаунту


News Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 42004

код для вставкиСкачать
IBM Prize to T. Kato and K. Awaga
Since 1987 the IBM Japan Science Prize
has been awarded annually to six scientists for basic research in the fields of
physics, chemistry, computer science,
and electronics. The recipients must be
under 45 years of age and have made
significant contributions in their career.
In 2003 there were two chemists among
the prizewinners.
Takashi Kato (University of Tokyo)
was awarded the Prize for his work
toward the development of new functional polymers and liquid crystals. After completing his PhD in 1988 at the
University of Tokyo, Kato carried out
postdoctoral research at Cornell University (Ithaca, NY, USA) on supramolecular,
hydrogenbridge-supported liquid
crystals with J. M. J. Fréchet. He then returned to
the University of Tokyo,
where he is now professor. His research is focused on the development of self-organized,
functional materials, such
T. Kato
as supramolecular liquid
crystals, liquid-crystalline gels, and lowdimensional ion-conducting liquid crystals, and the synthesis of organic – inorganic composite materials by mimicking
biomineralization. He recently described “Self-Organized Calcium Carbonate with
Regular Surface-Relief
Structures” in Angewandte Chemie.[1]
A further IBM Prize
went to Kunio Awaga
(Nagoya University) in
recognition of his work
on molecular magnets in
three main areas: the
K. Awaga
synthesis, characterization, and theoretical description of organic ferromagnets,
low-dimensional magnets and molecular
spin ladders, and the development of
functional magnetic materials, in particular materials based on thiazyl radicals.
Awaga studied and completed his PhD
at the University of Tokyo, became
associate professor there in 1992, and
in 2001 professor at the University of
Nagoya. In his most recent Communication in Angewandte Chemie he reported on packing motifs and crystal
growth in porphyrazine macrocycles
with peripherally annulated thiadiazole
Leibniz Prize to T. Carell
Prizes in the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz
Program of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft are awarded annually to
outstanding scientists from all research
disciplines. At the end of 2003, 11
awards were made, each worth
E 1 550 000.
One of the prizes went to the
chemist Thomas Carell. Carell studied
chemistry in MDnster and Heidelberg
PhD in 1993 under the guidance
of H. A. Staab at
the Max-PlanckInstitut fDr medizinische
Forschung in Heidelberg,
then went as a
T. Carell
postdoctoral researcher to J. Rebek at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, MA, USA). Following this postdoctoral period he completed his habilitation with F. Diederich at the ETH
ZDrich (Switzerland). In 2000 he took
up a position as full professor at the
University of Marburg (Germany) and
moved to the UniversitGt MDnchen
(Germany) in December 2003 to succeed W. Steglich. His research is characterized by two main topics: the repair
and mutagenesis of DNA, and the biophysical properties of DNA and hybrid
compounds based on DNA or inspired
by its structure. His latest Communication in Angewandte Chemie is entitled
“The Two Main DNA Lesions 8-Oxo-
2004 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
7,8-dihydroguanine and 2,6-Diamino-5formamido-4-hydroxypyrimidine
Exhibit Strongly Different Pairing Properties”.[3]
New GDCh President H. Hopf
The Board of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (German Chemical Society) has elected Henning Hopf as president for 2004
and 2005. He
succeeds FredRobert Heiker
(Bayer AG). After completing
his habilitation
in 1972 at the
Karlsruhe (Germany), Hopf be- H. Hopf
came professor
at the UniversitGt WDrzburg. He has
held his current position as Professor of
Organic Chemistry at the Technische
UniversitGt Braunschweig since 1979.
His research interests include cyclophanes and highly unsaturated hydrocarbons, such as cumulenes, which feature in his fundamental work “Classics
in Hydrocarbon Chemistry” (WileyVCH 2000). His most recent Communication in Angewandte Chemie is on
liquid-crystalline cyclophane derivatives.[4] Hopf has always been involved
in publishing, not only as the author of
articles and books, but also as an editor
(most recently of “Humoristische
Chemie” with Ralf Jakobi, Wiley-VCH
2003). He played a fundamental role in
stimulating the reorganization of the
European chemistry journals and is
currently chairman of the Editorial
Board of the European Journal of Organic Chemistry.
[1] A. Sugawara, T. Ishii, T. Kato, Angew.
Chem. 2003, 115, 5457; Angew. Chem. Int.
Ed. 2003, 42, 5299.
[2] M. Fujimori, Y. Suzuki, H. Yoshikawa, K.
Awaga, Angew. Chem. 2003, 115, 6043;
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2003, 42, 5863.
[3] M. Ober, U. Linne, J. Gierlich, T. Carell,
Angew. Chem. 2003, 115, 5097; Angew.
Chem. Int. Ed. 2003, 42, 4947.
[4] E. L. Popova, V. I. Rozenberg, Z. A. Starikova, S. Keuker-Baumann, H.-S. Kitzerow, H. Hopf Angew. Chem. 2002, 114,
3561; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2002, 41,
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2004, 43, 392
Без категории
Размер файла
78 Кб
42004, int, angel, chem, news
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа