вход по аккаунту


News Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 322003

код для вставкиСкачать
higher terpenes in 1939, together with
Adolf Butenandt (Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institut fAr Biochemie, Berlin, for work
on hormones).
A. Corma Receives Eugene Houdry
E. Jacobsen Gives Ruzicka Lecture
Invitations to give the Ruzicka Lecture,
which is organized by the Laboratory for
Organic Chemistry of the ETH
Zurich[1] , are made in an unusual way,
namely, by the PhD
students. Their selection committee decided
on Eric N. Jacobsen
(Harvard University)
for 2003. Jacobsen gave
the Lecture entitled
Reactions, and Substrates in Asymmetric
E. Jacobsen
Catalysis” on June 30.
A two-day workshop with the participation of PhD students was also organized.
Jacobsen carried out PhD research
from 1982 to 1986 at the University of
California in Berkeley under the guidance of Robert G. Bergman on dinuclear transition-metal complexes with
bridging ligands and their relevance to
heterogeneous catalysis, then undertook
postdoctoral research with Barry Sharpless at the MIT. From 1988 until 1993 he
was a professor at the University of
Illinois in Urbana – Champaign and he
took up a position at Harvard University
in 1993. His research is focused on the
development of new synthetic methods,[2] in particular for asymmetric catalysis, and their use in natural-product
synthesis. His research group also carries out physical-organic studies on reactivity and recognition phenomena in
homogeneous catalysis. Jacobsen is a
member of the Editorial Board of Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis.
Leopold Ruzicka (1887 – 1976) was a
professor at the ETH when he was
awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry
for his work on polymethylenes and
The North American Catalysis Society awards the
Eugene Houdry
Award annually in
memory of the
chemical engineer
catalytic cracking
A. Corma
to petrochemistry
in 1920. This commercially and industrially oriented award is only rarely
given to an academic researcher. In
2003 it goes to Avelino Corma, a professor at the Universidad Politécnica de
Valencia (Spain), for his outstanding
contributions in the field of heterogeneous catalysis, in particular for the
development of catalysts and processes.
Corma received his PhD in 1976
from the Universidad Complutense de
Madrid. After two years as a postdoctoral researcher at QueenEs University
in Kingston (Ontario, Canada) he returned to Spain. He has been a professor
since 1987 and in 1989 founded the
Instituto de TecnologFa QuFmica, where
he is Scientific Director. His research is
focused on acid – base and redox catalysis and molecular sieves. He is a
member of the Editorial Advisory
Board of ChemPhysChem, and his article on the modeling of catalysts
through neural networks was the cover
article in issue 11/2002 of that journal.[3]
Krber Prize to Nanotechnology
The KIrber Foundation in Hamburg is
awarding its KIrber Prize, worth
750 000 E, to an international and interdisciplinary team. The recipients are
physicist Nieck F. van Hulst (Twente,
the Netherlands), chemists Ben L. Feringa (Groningen, the Netherlands) and
Martin MIller (RWTH Technical University of Aachen, Germany), and biologist Justin Molloy (MRC National
Institute for Medical Research, London), whose research groups cooperate
2003 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
in the field of light-driven molecular machines.
Feringa completed
his PhD in 1978 in Groningen under the supervision of Hans Wynberg. After six years at
Shell he returned as a
lecturer to the University and was made a B. L. Feringa
professor in 1988. He is
a member of the Academic Advisory
Board of Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis. His work focuses on organic stereochemistry,[4] and a Full Paper on molecular switches[5] appeared recently in
Chemistry—A European Journal.[6]
MIller completed
his PhD (1981) and habilitation (1988) in Freiburg (Germany). In
1981 – 1982 he undertook research at the
University of Massachusetts in Amherst,
MA (USA), in 1989 he M. MIller
moved as Professor of
Macromolecular Chemistry to the University of Twente, and in 1993 he took
up a position at the UniversitLt Ulm
(Germany). He has been Director of the
Deutsche Wollforschungsinstitut (German Wool-Research Institute) at the
RWTH Aachen since March 2003. His
research encompasses macromolecular
chemistry, in particular functional nanostructures.[7] MIller is a member of the
Advisory Boards of Macromolecular
Chemistry and Physics and of Macromolecular Rapid Communications.
[1] EidgenIssische Technische Hochschule
(Swiss Federal Institute of Technology).
[2] S. N. Goodman, E. N. Jacobsen, Angew.
Chem. 2002, 114, 4897; Angew. Chem. Int.
Ed. 2002, 41, 4703.
[3] A. Corma, J. M. Serra, E. Argente, V.
Botti, S. Valero, ChemPhysChem 2002, 3,
[4] B. L. Feringa, R. A. van Elden, Angew.
Chem. 1999, 111, 3624; Angew. Chem. Int.
Ed. 1999, 38, 3418.
[5] Molecular Switches (Ed.: B. Feringa),
Wiley-VCH, Weinheim, 2001.
[6] R. A. van Delden, J. H. Hurenkamp, B. L.
Feringa, Chem. Eur. J. 2003, 9, 2845.
[7] M. Jaumann, E. A. Rebrov, V. V. Kazakova, A. M. Muzafarov, W. A. Goedel, M.
MIller, Macromol. Chem. Phys. 2003, 13,
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2003, 42, 3714
Без категории
Размер файла
77 Кб
int, angel, chem, news, 322003
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа