вход по аккаунту


Organic Chemistry Buchwald Awarded Bioinorganic Chemistry Wieghardt Receives Prize Materials Science Meijer Honored.

код для вставкиСкачать
K. Wieghardt Receives ACS Award
ACS Creativity Award to
S. L. Buchwald
Stephen L. Buchwald (Massachusetts
Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA) receives the 2006 American Chemical Society (ACS) Award for
Creative Work in Synthetic Organic
Chemistry. He is honored for his important contributions to the
development of transition-metal-catalyzed
coupling methods.
chemistry at Brown University (Providence, RI,
USA) and Columbia
University and completed his PhD in 1982
at Harvard University
S. Buchwald
under the guidance of
J. R. Knowles on the
mechanism of phosphoryl transfer in
chemistry and biochemistry. He then
carried out postdoctoral research in the
group of R. H. Grubbs at the California
Institute of Technology on titanocene
reagents and the mechanism of Ziegler–
Natta catalysis. In 1984 he joined MIT as
an assistant professor and was appointed
Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry
in 1997. The research interests of his
group include new methods for C C,
C N, and C O bond formation, as well
as asymmetric conjugate reductions. He
recently reported on the formation of
palladacycles during Pd-catalyzed C N
bond-forming reactions in Angewandte
Chemie.[1a] He is a member of the
editorial board of Advanced Synthesis
& Catalysis and recently discussed
coupling reactions of aryl halides with
amines therein.[1b]
The ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry
for 2006 is presented to Karl Wieghardt
(Max Planck Institute for Bioinorganic
Chemistry, M>lheim/Ruhr, Germany). The prize
is rarely awarded
outside of the
USA, and this is
only the second
time that it is
(H. W.
Roesky was the
in K. Wieghardt
2004). Wieghardt
is recognized for his work in the area
of bioinorganic chemistry, focused in
particular on metalloproteins and preparing models of their active sites. He
recently reported in Angewandte
Chemie on [(cyclam-acetato)Fe(N)]+,
an iron(v) species with a ground-state
spin of S = 1/2.[2a]
Wieghardt studied chemistry at the
Universities of Hamburg and Heidelberg and completed his PhD under the
guidance of H. Siebert at Heidelberg in
1969. He carried out postdoctoral
research with A. G. Sykes at the University of Leeds (UK) during 1972–73,
before returning to Germany to complete his habilitation at Heidelberg
(1974). He subsequently joined the
University of Hannover as an associate
professor. In 1981 he accepted a position
at the University of Bochum and
remained there until 1994, when he
joined the Max Planck Society. Wieghardt serves on the editorial board of
Chemistry – A European Journal and is a
co-editor of the Handbook of Metalloproteins.[2b]
ACS Award to E. W. Meijer
Bert Meijer (Technische Universiteit
Eindhoven, The Netherlands) receives
the ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry
2006 for his work in the area of macromolecular organic chemistry and biomedicinal chemistry. Meijer is interested
in the design, synthesis, and characterization of supramolecular systems with
emphasis on chiral structures, dendrimers, p-conjugated oligomers, and polymers, as well as hydrogen-bonded archi-
2006 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
tectures and their application in functional materials. He recently reported in
Angewandte Chemie on the direct visualization of efficient energy transfer in
single oligo(p-phenylenevinylene) vesicles.[3]
Meijer studied chemistry at the University of Groningen (The Netherlands)
and completed his PhD there in 1982
working in the group of H. Wynberg.
During 1982–89 he was a research
chemist in the field of functional organic
materials at Philips Research Laboratories in Eindhoven,
and during 1989–
92 he was head of
the “New Materials” department at
DSM Research in
Geleen. Since 1991
he is Professor of
Organic Chemistry at the Eindhoven University
Technology, E. W. Meijer
and since 1995 he
is also Adjunct Professor in Macromolecular Chemistry at Nijmegen University. Meijer is a member of the international advisory board of Angewandte
Chemie and serves on the editorial
boards of Advanced Materials and
Chemistry – A European Journal,
among others.
[1] a) E. R. Strieter, S. L. Buchwald, Angew.
Chem. 2006, 118, 939; Angew. Chem. Int.
Ed. 2006, 45, 925; b) S. L. Buchwald, C.
Mauger, G. Mignani, U. Scholz, Adv.
Synth. Catal. 2006, 348, 23.
[2] a) N. Aliaga-Alcalde, S. DeBeer George,
B. Mienert, E. Bill, K. Wieghardt, F.
Neese, Angew. Chem. 2005, 117, 2968;
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2005, 44, 2908;
b) Handbook of Metalloproteins (Eds.:
A. Messerschmidt, R. Huber, T. Poulos,
K. Wieghardt), Wiley, New York, 2001.
[3] F. J. M. Hoeben, I. O. Shklyarevskiy, M. J.
Pouderoijen, H. Engelkamp, A. P. H. J.
Schenning, P. C. M. Christianen, J. C.
Maan, E. W. Meijer, Angew. Chem.
2006, 118, 1254; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.
2006, 45, 1232.
DOI: 10.1002/anie.200600708
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2006, 45, 2004
Без категории
Размер файла
160 Кб
chemistry, honored, awarded, organiz, buchwald, prizi, material, bioinorganic, wieghardt, meijer, receive, science
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа