вход по аккаунту


S. John and G. Ozin Receive Brockhouse Canada Prize Polymer Award to C. J. Hawker Noyori Prize to D. Seebach

код для вставкиСкачать
where he currently holds the Canada
Research Chair in Materials Chemistry.
John completed his PhD in physics at
Harvard University (USA). From 1986
to 1989 he was assistant professor at
Princeton University, where he coinvented the concept of photonic band
gap materials. He now holds the
Canada Research Chair in Physics at
the University of Toronto.
Polymer Award to C. J. Hawker
S. John and G. Ozin Receive
Brockhouse Canada Prize
Sajeev John and Geoffrey Ozin of the
University of Toronto (Canada) have
received the first Brockhouse Canada
Prize of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
accompanied by a research
grant of CAN$ 250 000, is
to be awarded annually for
outstanding results in an
interdisciplinary NSERCfunded project. It is named
after the Canadian physicist
Bertram N. Brockhouse,
who was awarded the 1994
Nobel Prize for the development of neutron spectrosS. John
Sajeev John and materials
chemist Geoffrey Ozin
have together developed
photonic crystals in which
light can be trapped. These
crystals, which are based on
inverse silicon opals, should
form the basis of optical
microchips that operate at
the speed of light. After
G. Ozin
Johns concept had been
rejected by many scientists around the
world, he came across Ozin at his own
university in 1998. Ozin had 30 years of
experience in zeolite chemistry, also on
a nanometer scale. The collaboration
of theory and experiment of these two
researchers is as fruitful as their backgrounds are different.[1a] Ozins article
on nanocrystallinity in anatase thin
films is highlighted on the cover of
issue 2/2005 of Small.[1b]
Ozin completed his PhD at the University of Oxford (UK) and since 1969
has been at the University of Toronto,
Craig J. Hawker is to receive the 2005
ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science. Hawker studied chemistry in
Queensland (Australia) and completed his PhD in
1988 at the University of Cambridge
(UK) with A. R.
Battersby on the
biosynthesis of vitamin B12. Following
research with J. M. J.
Frchet at Cornell C. J. Hawker
University (USA),
he returned in
1990 to the University of Queensland.
Since 1993 he has worked at the Almaden Research Center of IBM in San
Jos, California and since 2001 has also
been adjunct professor at the University
of Queensland.
Hawkers research encompasses
synthetic polymer chemistry and materials for nanotechnology (microelectronics and biotechnology). For example,
he is interested in the structuring of surfaces on the nanometer scale. To overcome the disadvantages of top-down
and bottom-up approaches, he works
on methods based on imprinting and
subsequent polymerization. In both
2003 and 2004 he was the co-author of
cover-picture articles in Angewandte
Chemie: on the synthesis of triazole dendrimers, and on the structured crosslinking of silsesquioxanes.[2]
Noyori Prize to D. Seebach
The Ryoji Noyori Prize is awarded by
the Society of Synthetic Organic
Chemistry, Japan and sponsored by the
company Takasago. The prize of
US$ 10 000 is awarded in recognition of
2005 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
1 te von 1
outstanding contributions to asymmetric synthetic chemistry. The recipient
for 2004, selected by a committee composed of four people from Japan and
three from abroad, is Dieter Seebach
of the ETH Zrich (Switzerland).
Seebach, a former member of the
Chemie, completed his PhD at the Universitt Karlsruhe (Germany) with R.
Criegee, then undertook postdoctoral
research with E. J. Corey at Harvard
University. In 1971
he became professor in Giessen
then in 1977 at the
ETH Zrich. His
research is broadly
concerned with the
organic chemistry.
One of his current D. Seebach
projects focuses on
b-peptides; he recently reported on
their secondary structure in Angewandte
Chemie.[3a] A comprehensive review on
this topic appeared in 2004 in Chemistry
& Biodiversity.[3b] Over a period of
almost 30 years Angewandte Chemie
has published 11 Reviews by Seebach
on a wide range of topics, including
umpolung, Ti and Zr nucleophiles, and
asymmetric synthesis. His Review on
the future of organic synthesis is legendary.[3c]
[1] a) N. Ttreault, H. Mguez, G. A. Ozin,
Adv. Mater. 2004, 16, 1471; b) S. Y. Choi,
M. Mamak, S. Speakman, N. Chopra,
G. A. Ozin, Small 2005, 1, 226.
[2] a) P. Wu, A. K. Feldman, A. K. Nugent,
C. J. Hawker, A. Scheel, B. Voit, J.
Pyun, J. M. J. Frchet, K. B. Sharpless,
V. V. Fokin, Angew. Chem. 2004, 116,
4018; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2004, 43,
3928; b) E. F. Connor, L. K. Sundberg,
H.-C. Kim, J. J. Cornelissen, T. Magbitang, P. M. Rice, V. Y. Lee, C. J. Hawker,
W. Volksen, J. L. Hedrick, R. D. Miller,
Angew. Chem. 2003, 115, 3915; Angew.
Chem. Int. Ed. 2003, 42, 3785.
[3] a) K. Gademann, A. Hne, M. Rueping,
B. Jaun, D. Seebach, Angew. Chem.
2003, 115, 1573; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.
2003, 42, 1534; b) D. Seebach, A. K.
Beck, D. J. Bierbaum, Chem. Biodiv.
2004, 1, 1111; c) D. Seebach, Angew.
Chem. 1990, 102, 1363; Angew. Chem.
Int. Ed. Engl. 1990, 29, 1320.
DOI: 10.1002/anie.200462890
Umfang (Seiten):
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2005, 44, 358
53 KW., 28. Dezember 2004 (Dienstag)
12:05:56 Uhr
Без категории
Размер файла
176 Кб
polymer, noyori, awards, brockhouse, seebach, ozin, prizi, hawken, canada, receive, john
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа