вход по аккаунту


Supramolecular Chemistry Diederich honored Organic Chemistry Seebach awarded Self-Assembly Nitschke receives prize.

код для вставкиСкачать
and in 1992 he joined the ETH Z'rich.
Diederich serves on the advisory board
of Chemistry – A European Journal and
has been the chairman of the editorial
board of Angewandte Chemie since 2004.
D. Seebach gives EuCheMS
F. Diederich receives
A. W. von Hofmann Medal
During the opening ceremony of the
First European Chemistry Congress
(ECC) in Budapest (Hungary), the
German Chemical Society
Chemiker, GDCh) presented the native Luxembourger Fran$ois Diederich
(ETH Z'rich, Switzerland)
with the August Wilhelm
von Hofmann Medal. The
medal, which commemorates von Hofmann (1818–
1892), who in his long career
F. Diederich
served as President of the
London and later became the founding
president of what was to become the
GDCh,[1] is awarded to foreign chemists
and German scientists (non-chemists).
Diederich presented a lecture on the
Principles of Supramolecular Chemistry
in Drug Discovery Research. Besides
the areas of molecular recognition in
chemistry and biology, supramolecular
nanochemistry, the chemistry of synthetic fullerenes, and novel materials
from carbon-rich acetylene derivatives,[2a] Diederich7s research group is
also interested in medicinal chemistry
and recently discussed antimalarial
drugs in Angewandte Chemie.[2b]
Diederich completed his PhD in
1979 at the University of Heidelberg
(Germany) with H. A. Staab. He carried
out postdoctoral research at the University of California in Los Angeles
(UCLA; USA) and at the Max Planck
Institute for Medicinal Research in
Heidelberg. After completing his habilitation in 1985 he returned to UCLA,
The European Association for Chemical
and Molecular Sciences (EuCheMS)
Lecture was given by Dieter Seebach
(ETH Z'rich) at
the ECC in Budapest on the topic of
Structural and Biological Investigations of Peptides
Homologated Proteinogenic Amino
Acids. Seebach, a
former member of
the editorial board D. Seebach
Chemie, completed his PhD at the University of Karlsruhe (Germany) with R.
Criegee, then undertook postdoctoral
research with E. J. Corey at Harvard
University (USA). In 1971 he became
professor in Giessen (Germany), and
then in 1977 at the ETH Z'rich. His
research is broadly concerned with the
development of methodology in organic
chemistry. One of his current projects
focuses on b-peptides, and he recently
discussed their role in passive transfer
through the lipid bilayer in ChemBioChem.[3a] Over a period of almost
30 years, Angewandte Chemie has published 11 Reviews by Seebach on a wide
range of topics, including umpolung, Ti
and Zr nucleophiles, asymmetric synthesis, and his legendary view on the
future of organic synthesis.[3b]
European Young Chemist Award
to J. R. Nitschke
The European Young Chemist Awards,
which are presented to chemists under
34 years of age, were presented for the
first time at the ECC, Budapest. The
Gold Medal went to Jonathan R.
Nitschke (University of Geneva, Switzerland), who presented a lecture on
Construction, Substitution, and Sorting
Using Subcomponent Self-Assembly.
Nitschke completed his PhD in 2001 at
2006 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
the University of California, Berkeley
(USA), and then joined J.-M. Lehn
(Chemistry Nobel Prize 1987) at the
UniversitF Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg
(France), as a postdoctoral researcher.
Since 2003, he has been an independent
junior researcher (MaGtre-assistant) at
the University of Geneva. His research
revolves around helicates; he recently
reported in Chemistry – A European
Journal on dynamic
topological control
on subcomponent
give helicates, macrocycles, or catenanes[4a] and on
a dynamic Cu3
double helicate.[4b]
prizes (Silver Medals) went to Javier J. R. Nitschke
(University of Alicante, Spain; Circular
Porosity Induced by Membrane Phospholipids) and Leroy Cronin (University of Glasgow, UK; Supramolecular
Self-Assembly of Polyoxometalate Clusters towards Functional Nanosystems[5]). Elisabete Barros de Carvalho
(University of Porto (Portugal); Interaction of Salivary Proteins with Grape
Seed Procyanidins) and Irina Koval
(University of Leiden (The Netherlands); Copper Complexes as Biomimetic Models of Catechol Oxidase)
received special mention from the jury.
[1] C. Meinel, Angew. Chem. 1992, 104, 1293;
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 1992, 31, 1265.
[2] a) M. Kivala, F. Mitzel, C. Boudon, J.-P.
Gisselbrecht, P. Seiler, M. Gross, F. Diederich, Chem. Asian J. 2006, 1, 479; b) F.
Hof, A. Sch'tz, C. FJh, S. Meyer, D. Bur,
J. Liu, D. E. Goldberg, F. Diederich,
Angew. Chem. 2006, 118, 2193; Angew.
Chem. Int. Ed. 2006, 45, 2138.
[3] a) B. Geueke, K. Namoto, I. Agarkova, J.C. Perriard, H.-P. E. Kohler, D. Seebach,
ChemBioChem 2005, 6, 982; b) D. Seebach,
Angew. Chem. 1990, 102, 1363; Angew.
Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 1990, 29, 1320.
[4] a) M. Hutin, C. A. Schalley, G. Bernardinelli, J. R. Nitschke, Chem. Eur. J. 2006,
12, 4096; b) M. Hutin, R. Frantz, J. R.
Nitschke, Chem. Eur. J. 2006, 12, 4077.
[5] D.-L. Long, P. KKgerler, L. J. Farrugia, L.
Cronin, Chem. Asian J. 2006, 1, 352.
DOI: 10.1002/anie.200603096
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2006, 45, 6246
Без категории
Размер файла
152 Кб
chemistry, diederichs, honored, self, awarded, assembly, organiz, supramolecular, seebach, prizi, nitschke, receive
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа