вход по аккаунту


News Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 22003

код для вставкиСкачать
Amatore, Basset, and Raveau
Elected Members of the Acade¬mie
des Sciences
Dieter Seebach and
≈ Kobayashi Receive Nagoya
The Nagoya Medals are awarded every
year to an organic chemist who has
made significant original contributions
to the field in its broadest sense (gold,
since 1995), and to a relatively young
Japanese scientist whose research has a
major impact on the field of synthetic
organic chemistry (silver, since 1999).
This year, the medals were presented to
. Prof. Dieter Seebach, ETH Zurich
(Gold Medal). Seebach earned his
doctorate under the guidance of Rudolf Criegee in 1964 and spent two
years as a postdoc
in the group of
E. J. Corey. His
contributions to
organic synthesis
include textbook
(umpolung, natural product syntheses, Ti
and Zr catalysts
D. Seebach
for chemoselective
asymmetric carbonyl alkylations,
TADDOLs,[1] b-peptides,[2] ...), especially on the understanding of chirality. He is one of the world×s most
frequently cited chemistry authors.
. Prof. Shu≈ Kobayashi, University of
Medal), was recognized for his research on Lewis
acid and other catalysts,[3] some of
which may be
used in micellar
aqueous media or
S. Kobayashi
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2003, 42, 139 ± 139
The prestigious French Academy of Sciences, which dates back as far as 1666, has
three new members in its chemistry and
materials chemistry sections:
. Bernard Raveau, Professor of Chemistry at the Universite¬ de Caen (Normandy, France), Member of the International Advisory Board of Angewandte Chemie. His main topics of
research are the synthesis and study of
high-Tc superconductive oxides and
magnetic and ferroelectric compounds.
. Christian Amatore, Director of the
Chemistry Department of the Ecole
Normale Supe¬rieure (Paris), Member
of the Editorial Board of ChemPhysChem. His research is focused on
microelectrodes and the theory of
molecular electrochemistry.[4] Amatore is the Guest Editor of ChemPhysChem×s upcoming special issue on
. Jean-Marie Basset, CNRS Research
Director at CPE Lyon. His group×s
research is devoted to surface organometallic chemistry, especially the creation of structurally uniform active
sites with catalytic properties. See his
review in this issue.
German President's ™Future
Award∫ for Two Chemists
The Prize for Technology and Innovation (™Future Award∫) was awarded to
Prof. Maria-Regina Kula[5] (FZ J¸lich)
and PD Martina Pohl[6] for their research on ™Gentle Chemistry with Biological Catalysts∫
by the President
of the Federal Republic of Germany.
As a result of
the efforts of the
prize winners, enzymes can today
be extracted from
M.-R. Kula
cells in a pure form
to be used in industrial processes. Moreover, they developed a method for the continuous
recycling of coenzyms, such as for the
¹ 2003 Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, Weinheim
enyzmatic production of leucine
through the use of
formiate dehydrogenase. NADH is
additionally fixed
on a membrane.
Further optimization including rational protein de- M. Pohl
sign led to the
large-scale economic use of enzymes
and coenzymes today.
Seeberger Moves from the MIT to
Peter Seeberger, currently a Firmenich
associate professor of Chemistry at the
MIT, will succeed Dieter Seebach as a
professor of Organic Chemistry at ETH
Zurich (Switzerland) on April 1, 2003.
Seeberger earned his Ph. D. in biochemistry under the guidance of Marvin H. Caruthers (Boulder, CO, 1995).
After a postdoctoral fellowship with
Samuel J. Danishefsky at the Sloan ±
Kettering Institute for Cancer Research
in New York, he moved to the MIT in
January 1998. His research is focused on
the interface of biology and chemistry,
in particular on the role of carbohydrates and glycoconjugates in information transfer. Research projects include
the automated synthesis of glycoconjugates, the preparation of carbohydrate
arrays, and drug development (such as a
malaria vaccine).[7]
[1] D. Seebach, A. K. Beck, A. Heckel,
Angew. Chem. 2001, 113, 96; Angew.
Chem. Int. Ed. 2001, 40, 92.
[2] J. V. Schreiber, J. Frackenpohl, F. Moser,
T. Fleischmann, H.-P. E. Kohler, D. Seebach, ChemBioChem 2002, 3, 424.
[3] R. Akiyama, S. Kobayashi, Angew. Chem.
2002, 114, 2714; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed.
2002, 41, 2602.
[4] C. Amatore,Y. Bouret, E. Maisonhaute,
J. I. Goldsmith, H. D. Abrunƒa, ChemPhysChem 2001, 2, 130.
[5] L. Krieg, M. B. Ansorge-Schumacher, M.R. Kula, Adv. Syth. Catal. 2002, 344, 965.
[6] M. Pohl, B. Lingen, M. M¸ller, Chem.
Eur. J. 2002, 8, 5288.
[7] H. A. Orgueira, A. Bartolozzi, P. Schell,
P. H. Seeberger, Angew. Chem. 2002, 114,
2232; Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2002, 41,
1433-7851/03/4202-0139 $ 20.00+.50/0
Без категории
Размер файла
85 Кб
int, angel, chem, news, 22003
Пожаловаться на содержимое документа